Due to social distancing guidelines, our services and meeting locations are in a time of transition. If you wish to attend an in-person gathering, please contact the church office or an elder for more information.

Sunday School classes and children's classes including our nursery are cancelled until further notice.

Live Stream information can be found on our livestream page.

xclose menu

Elders and Deacons

The Session

Providence Presbyterian Church follows the New Testament pattern of church government by having a plurality of elders (both Teaching and Ruling, 1 Tim. 5:17), which is known as the Session.  Elders, who according to Scripture are to be elected by the congregation, must meet the rigid spiritual requirements set forth by God in 1 Timothy 3 and Titus 1, and assume full spiritual authority, as undershepherds of Jesus Christ, for the entire congregation.  The Session includes the pastor (Teaching Elder), who also serves as Moderator.

The Session has supervision over all ministries and committees of the church, including: the Board of Deacons (the Diaconate), Sunday school, music, women's ministries, youth ministry, and all others.  The elders are charged by God to shepherd His flock, which He has entrusted to their care, and on the Day of Judgment will give an account to Him for the care they provided (Acts 20:28-31; 1 Peter 5:1-4).

The Diaconate

In Acts 6, the Apostles instructed the church at Jerusalem to choose men of good character, full of the Spirit and wisdom, to provide for the physical needs of the congregation.  These men must also meet the requirements given in 1 Timothy 3.  Under the supervision of the Session, the diaconate administers the business and financial affairs of the church as a whole and for individuals with particular needs.  It also supports the ministry of the elders by enabling them to focus their time and energy on the ministry of the Word and prayer (Acts 6:4).

The Session     The Diaconate
Jim Claycomb     Mark Limbach
Jonah Cope     Adam Petersen
Scott Lollar      Adam Walden
Greg Myers      Don Walters
Larry Rodgers